Board Logo

Lowering a bay window kombi...
fekkinell - June 7th, 2006 at 05:35 PM

Yes... the moment Adam has been waiting for... i am seriously considering lowering my bus :P

Not to the ground, but definitely lower... main factors being cost (cos im now a poor arts student), and also how the hell do I do it?

Is it as simple as just getting different shocks or do i need to actually be responsible and do it properly?

Which begs more questions...

1. Wheels rubbing wheel arches?
2. Ride comfort?
3. Steering be heavier or easier or the same?
4. Can i handle sitting amongst traffic instead of towering over it? :P

Any advice would be great!

Thanx

pyr0 - June 7th, 2006 at 05:41 PM

you need an adjustable front beam, or weld in adjusters your self ;) depends on the width tyre you want but i run 205's all round and dont scrub, replace the shocks while youre there chances are the ones in your car at the moment are on there way out, they handle great and ride very smoothly :tu:

mines about 5-5.5 inches lower than stock

helbus - June 7th, 2006 at 08:24 PM

Keep in touch. In a few months (about 4) I WILL be lowering the Helbus about 3 inches. I have adjusters and adjustable bump stops to put in the front and will drop the back also. You are welcome to come over and watch while I do it over a weekend and see what is involved.

Hey if you help me, maybe we can do a tag team two kombi lowering job with many hands making lighter work?

I do have the equipment and welding experience to fit and weld in the adjusters properly.

empi - June 7th, 2006 at 08:34 PM

Bwhahahaqhahahahahha!!!! pick me pick me!!!! i know .... there are several ways .... call me 0400091856.

Ad

Bwhahahahahhahhahhahahahahahahhahaha:bounce hahahahahahah!!!!!

fekkinell - June 7th, 2006 at 10:05 PM

Hey Pete... that'd be awesome. I've always wanted to see what makes the Helbus tick :) ... It'd give me time to save a little $$$ for the bits n pieces aswell.