Author: Subject:  Full Race harness help
Memberwants2buyaVW
Learner Dubber

No Avatar

Threads: 6

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

question.gif posted on March 16th, 2011 at 01:22 PM
Full Race harness help

Im quite new to the VW beetle scene and as yet do not own one. im planning on building up a kind of street racer but im not sure where you attach the race harness to, roll bar?

MemberSides
A.k.a.: Dave Sidery
Veteran Volks Folk

Threads: 59

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue
Mood: Need... more... shed... time...

posted on March 16th, 2011 at 01:42 PM

Hey welcome !!!

;)

If you're going to run a 4, 5 or 6 point harness then yup - the usual thing is for the shoulder straps to go back to a "harness bar", which is part of the roll cage (3 points as far as I know are a no-no these days). That's exactly how I have it in my beetle... both race safe and full street legal.

I've seen people run 'em down to reinforced points on the floor under where the back seat usually sits, but don't think that would meet all required angles and distances.

VWDCQ vice pres & web dude - vwdcqinc.org.au
Join a car club - get car peeps

My toys
'70 Hillclimb Bug 'Jezebel' w/- Haltech EFI - http://bit.ly/VwTNtQ 
'60 KG Coupe - resto kinda started
01 New Beetle - gf's car, but I turn the spanners
Memberwants2buyaVW
Learner Dubber

No Avatar

posted on March 16th, 2011 at 01:55 PM

ahh thanks alot. :D i think i will get a roll bar when i get a bug
Membersander288
Custom Title Time!
"Bolt-on Master"

Threads: 183

Mood: This is my bug. There are many others like it, but this one is mine.

posted on March 16th, 2011 at 07:17 PM

The closer you can get the attachment points to your seat the better; you want it to stretch as little as possible in the event of an incident.

BMW R65 LS
1967 1300 Deluxe
Swing-axles FTW :!:

http://i1183.photobucket.com/albums/x463/sander19671988/4201806984_a2d051587f_o.jpg
MemberBiX
Veteran Volks Folk

Threads: 154

posted on March 19th, 2011 at 10:09 PM