Board Logo
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
[ Total Views: 961 | Total Replies: 15 | Thread Id: 91720 ]
Author: Subject:  Finding the right Beetle.
Memberstevied_007
Learner Dubber

No Avatar

Threads: 1

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on July 22nd, 2011 at 04:09 PM
Finding the right Beetle.

Hi, Newbie here.

I’ve been looking into getting a Beetle to use as a daily driver. I understand that the beetle is a vintage or classic vehicle depending on age, and essentially of a 1940’s design, so I’m not expecting it to function like a soulless modern car.

As a first step into air-cooled Volkswagens I’ve been looking at late 60’s early 70’s 1500cc Beetles, which seem the most suitable.

I’m looking for suggestions as to what is the most practical years/models in regards to:
- Drivability, not a hindrance to traffic both in the city and on the highway.
- Engine reliability, durability, power and economy.
- Front suspension torsion bar vs. McPherson strut.
- Rear suspension double cv vs. swing arm.
- Parts availability.
- Safety/Corrosion resistance. Post March 1968 body vs. pre March 1968 bodies which I’ve been told was basically a 1961 body.
Without:
- Padded Dash
- 4 spoke steering wheel.
- ‘Elephant Foot’ taillights.

As for price, I’m willing to do a bit of work to get familiar with the car and get it roadworthy . I’m not in a hurry to get a car on the road, but I’m not after a full restoration project either.
MemberPaulc1964au
Custom Title Time!

Threads: 59

posted on July 22nd, 2011 at 04:46 PM

Welcome to the forum, you will find a number of cars that come on for sale here and depends on how much you are prepared to spend to what condition car you get.

I have a 69 beetle which was in reasonably good condition when i bought it. mind you i have spent more than what i paid for the car getting it too look like what I want lol.

there is nothing like driving a bug and when i am there is nothing else like it.