Board Logo

my baja
vwsteve - July 18th, 2008 at 07:25 AM

I was supposed to go to the last gold coast vw show but woke up sunday morning with the cant be bothered driving that far attitutude so i went to the caboolture markets instead.While there i saw some off road tyres which i looked at for my baja project but they were 14 inch and i needed 15, the owner asked what i needed them for so i told him about my project, he told me about one his who mate had for 10 plus years and its been sitting around for ages and was thinking about selling it so i got his number and this is what i got.
Ive been collecting parts for my project for a few years now and been spewing when my mate nills goes out in his and i cant go so i started looking for one that i can run around in untill my long term project is done.This one has very little rust, full fibreglass front, h/d torsion bars, type 3 rear end, big wheels galvanised and powdercoated, vdo guages,external oil cooler, weber carb,good bars, big bash plate etc.

vwsteve - July 18th, 2008 at 07:27 AM

vwsteve - July 18th, 2008 at 07:29 AM

type3kid - July 18th, 2008 at 11:59 AM

damn man!!

good score...:tu:

vwsteve - July 18th, 2008 at 12:07 PM

Took a while to get it running,there was a nest made in the carb as the aircleaner was stuffed, the carby was 180 degrees round the wrong way???????who knows why...., the coil was wired up the wrong way, the dist was r##ted and it took a while to figure out but 2 plugs were only half way in, had me going for a while, it runs really well, needs smaller jets in the carb as it getting way too much fuel.Other than that it needs new brakes and the gearbox mount welded up again, had to put another wiring harness in it as rats ate the old one, found 3 dead rats in it.

Midlife crisis - July 18th, 2008 at 01:28 PM

Nice score Rexy, watch out in the bush here comes Rexy

marc

vwsteve - July 18th, 2008 at 01:44 PM