Board Logo

New to everything VW
theVman - January 25th, 2011 at 01:54 PM

Hi all,

I am completely new to anything VW. I have just purchased a 1969 Beetle convertible that I want to make into a Volksrod. More specifically my own version of the “Heb Rod” of sorts as you can see by my avatar.
The Heb Rod...
http://ll.speedhunters.com/u/f/eagames/NFS/speedhunters.com/Images/Mike%20Garrett/1May/Car%20Features/heb%20rod/heb4.jpg

My 1969 convertable...
http://thebauers.customer.netspace.net.au/images/vwince1.jpg
http://thebauers.customer.netspace.net.au/images/vwince.jpg

The first items i need to get are:
a front beam extension (8")
drop spindles
1935 ford wire wheels.

barls - January 25th, 2011 at 02:23 PM

looks different, but have you spoken to an engineer about these mods as it could be hard to get registered and do legally in australia.

theVman - January 25th, 2011 at 03:01 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by barls
looks different, but have you spoken to an engineer about these mods as it could be hard to get registered and do legally in australia.
I think it should be ok, it’s already a registered convertible. The beam extension is ok if you reinforce the firewall and beam mount.
This one below is in Vic.... so it should be possible in QLD.
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4035/4227014231_f87cd69bcf.jpg

barls - January 25th, 2011 at 03:05 PM

mate to do it legally you need to get engineering approval. if you were to do this without the engineers and have an accident even if you arent a fault, the insurance company will just wipe their hands and walk away.
also the rta and its forms in other states employ people to go one forums to look for dodgy modifications, then they send their inspectors out to look at them.
not worth it in my opinion. but feel free to do the dodgy way.
also just because someone in another state has done it doesnt make it legal especially if he hasnt done it right ether

theVman - January 25th, 2011 at 03:17 PM

Quote: