Board Logo

nissan l24 engine conversion in beach buggy??
2jzs4rx7 - December 6th, 2009 at 07:20 PM

hi everyone ive just got into vw's and im almost finished building my tube frame beach/offroad buggy.
its a beetle floor pan with superbug L series IRS back end.

im gonna run the 1500 beetle motor for a while but when i get bored with that...wont be long as every car ive owned has a faster motor lol
my mate has an old skyline with a fuel injected L24 inline6 that i can buy for bugger all
he also has a tubebuggy that had a L20 which gave me the idea

obviously people have used L20s in buggys for years but im wondering if anyone has given the L series box a go with a 6 yet? will it hold up if im not too brutal?

All the buggys i see have kombi box's.

also does this conversion require a bellhousing adaptor or can the original bellhousing be matched up and redrilled to suit?
i know a custom flywheel has to be made up but thats not a problem coz im a machinist by trade
unless someone has one already laying around the shed????:-)
any help would be great
thanks daniel

ian.mezz - December 6th, 2009 at 07:24 PM

http://www.volksconversions.com.au/ 

I have a subaru in beetle link below.

grumble - December 6th, 2009 at 07:28 PM

Man have you seeen the length of those 6 cylinder L series engines? the overhang will be awesome,no weight on the steering,a lot of years ago we had a holden grey motor in a baja body and it was excessively heavy at the rear,went like you wouldn't believe in a straight line. The little turbo Toyotas go like a cut cat without the weight.

ian.mezz - December 6th, 2009 at 07:31 PM

yeah you have to go V6.

pete wood - December 7th, 2009 at 07:46 AM