Board Logo

Radiator - at the front or in the middle?
richmurphy - April 22nd, 2010 at 04:15 PM

Hi,

I'm in the process of planning an EJ22 conversion for my 72 Superbug. I can see that a number of you have performed this mod (or similar) so I'm hoping for some advice on where to put the radiator.

The idea of moving the firewall forward is appealing because
1) I never use that space for storage
2) I wouldn't have to run cooling pipes up to the front
3) I like the way my beetle looks now and don't want to cut air vents into the front
4) My boot remains a boot.

If I decide to go down this path, is there sufficient airflow above the gearbox for a radiator?

Given I have zero welding experience, am I being a tad ambitious? Seems like there will be a decent amount of welding required with either option...

Thanks,
Richard.

ian.mezz - April 22nd, 2010 at 07:51 PM

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v419/montem/1971superwrx002.jpg

ian.mezz - April 22nd, 2010 at 07:54 PM

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v419/montem/1971superwrx009.jpg

pete wood - April 22nd, 2010 at 08:34 PM

front is best unless you are using the car for serious offroad. even then though, front is good. you shouldn't need to weld anything either.

under the car at the back will always be a compromise for airflow, you might get it to work ok, but why bother when you can make it work great at the front of the car.

Joel - April 22nd, 2010 at 09:04 PM

nearly everyone thats tried a rear mounted rad in a bug has ended up with a failure, except for Wes and his is probably helped by being a lifted baja without the bodywork closing the back in

lots of scoops and vents can make it work at low speeds but nearly everyone who tries it finds that it gets to a speed where the fans just cant keep up and you get overheating

in the front works best and you dont have to sacrafice boot space if your smart with rad placement

just check what Jak fits in his bug