Board Logo

Subie into split (spubie?)
matt510 - August 7th, 2012 at 07:56 AM

Hi guys - Long time lurker first time poster here on aussieveebubbers. Love the site, lots of awesome info.

Getting to the point, ive got a 63 split and am looking to convert to a subie powerplant for a couple reasons (reliability, noise, power, reliability etc). I have a donor suburu liberty RS (early non-turbo version) for the powerplant. Im not worries about the ECU or electronics (i've already got a Haltech ECU from a previous project that will work just fine).
I have an adaptor plate and flywheel to mount the kombi trans to subi engine already.

Ive done a few engine swaps in the past, but im a total VW novice so id love to know whats available as far as engine mount kits (i see tons of info for later model vans, not much for the splittie though) and radiator mounts. How much (if any) cutting am i going to need to do to the engine bay area?

The reduction gears have already been removed and i have bay IRS up back already (and front disks) if that makes a difference.

What about exhaust kits, anything available or am i going full custom?

Thanks in advance for the knowledge guys !

ian.mezz - August 7th, 2012 at 09:06 AM

try boof , i think his did a bus,

pete wood - August 7th, 2012 at 10:35 AM

el-concreto got a subaru EJ22 I think. It's a singlecab ute, but it got minimal trimming with the SOHC engine from memory. I'll try and find the thread for you.

pete wood - August 7th, 2012 at 10:40 AM

here it is....

http://forums.aussieveedubbers.com/viewtopic.php?tid=81708&page=1 

BTW, as to where to put the radiator, I took a pic under the nose of my bro's 67 split a few years back and concluded it was the easiest place to fit the rad. You'd need some ducting and the like, but it should work well there. Can't give you more specifics than that tho as he never went ahead with the engine swap... coward. :no:

matt510 - August 7th, 2012 at 01:40 PM