Board Logo

A life ambition sorted (67, then 63, now 66 Beetle)
t_tuffnut - August 25th, 2009 at 07:30 PM

Hi everyone,

Like many of you, I was bitten by the bug at an early age and have often thought that my life could be improved considerably by the addition of a classic bug (and what reader of this forum doesn't still think that on a daily basis?). Last new years eve I made a resolution that 2009 would be "The year of the Beetle" and at the end of february I took delivery of my first bug.

As many of you will know from the pics, it is a 1967 deluxe with a stonking great 1300cc engine. I bought it from the Beetle exchange in Canberra. It had sat for 4 years in their yard. I put a new battery in it and it coughed into life within minutes.

There are a few small rust holes in the pan and passenger foot well, and the brakes are shot, but with the help of a few mates I'm sure that it will be back on the road soon. I'm a bit of a noob mechanically, but where better to start than a beetle project?

It's nice to come on here and chat with other vw enthusiasts and I know that I'm going to be one here a lot more in the coming months.

Cheers

t_tuffnut - August 25th, 2009 at 07:31 PM

Interior was in great condition. It's mostly in boxes at the moment.

t_tuffnut - August 25th, 2009 at 07:32 PM

It has a few little dings and patches, but nothing major.

Bizarre - August 25th, 2009 at 09:36 PM

looks like the basis of a great car

Well done :tu:

colonel mustard - August 25th, 2009 at 09:39 PM

Looks awesome :) Looks like you have come to the right place!! More pics!!! Any more current photos? What have you done to it so far. Very exciting. Congrats mate :)

t_tuffnut - August 26th, 2009 at 06:37 AM

Thanks for the support.

Here is a pic after I stripped and sprayed the bonnet, removed the guards and pulled out the interior.

t_tuffnut - August 26th, 2009 at 06:40 AM