Board Logo

New Race Car Transporter
RodPenrose - December 26th, 2013 at 06:34 PM

I have decided to build a new trailer to transport my drag car to and from events . I will endeavour to explain what I do and why I do it . I am not an engineer , but I have built several trailers over the past 15 years .

I have purchased some 50 x 50 box section for the main frame that is 2 mm thick . I have some 50 x 25 for bracing also 2 mm thick . The sides and roof will be mostly 20 x 20 x 1.6 that will be covered with a 3 mm thick aluminium composite panelling on the outside . The draw bar is 100 x 50 in 3 mm wall .

I have not yet decided on a dual or triple axle set up , however it will have 4 wheel electric brakes . The frame will be 7.4 m long and 2.4 m wide and around 2 m high . I have always used slipper springs , but I will now change to the rocker spring set up as I can spread the wheels wider apart for more stability .

I am aiming to have this finished for the VW meeting in February , ROD.

RodPenrose - December 26th, 2013 at 06:43 PM

Today I have been cutting and welding all day . Here is the outer frame in the 50 x 50 box section . The 2 centre runners are 1.4 m apart as this is where the wheels will run . I will use a 3 mm thick aluminium propeller plate as the flooring and as these sheets are 1.22 wide I have welded a 50 x 50 at where they join every 1.22 m .

In between I have a 50 x 25 as bracing in the centre of each sheet and tomorrow I will run another 50 x 25 directly down the centre , giving me a maximum span of 600 x 600 mm on the entire floor .

I have decided to taper the front of the trailer and the front of the roof section so it is a little narrower and lower than the tow car to make it a bit more aero dynamic , ROD.

BrisDubba - December 26th, 2013 at 08:19 PM

I will struggle to change my trailer rego label by February and I still think you will beat me...

Stanley - December 26th, 2013 at 08:32 PM

Why a new trailer Rod