Board Logo
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
[ Total Views: 1971 | Total Replies: 16 | Thread Id: 110030 ]
Author: Subject:  EA falcon disc/handbrakes on kombi
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 07:44 PM
EA falcon disc/handbrakes on kombi


I have been driving round for ages with no handbrake so finally fitted these...EA falcon rear discs and handbrake...had to cut the hub assembly and drill and tap new holes


[img]http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y172/rocknrob/DSCN0032_zps3jbdvlpr.jpg[/img]
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 07:49 PM



[img]http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y172/rocknrob/DSCN0033_zpsxqcqudy2.jpg[/img]

all EA parts then fitted nicely
Membernbturbo
Veteran Volks Folk
*****


Avatar


Posts: 2170
Threads: 89
Registered: December 19th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Whyalla Sth.Aust.
Theme: UltimaBB Powder

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 07:51 PM



Got any of the hub before the rotors went on?
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 07:56 PM



yeah trying to get them off my phe
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 07:57 PM



[img]http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y172/rocknrob/DSCN0038_zpsjcdjgcsq.jpg[/img]

had to mke a thingy to hold outer for cable
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 08:07 PM



[img]http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y172/rocknrob/DSCN0039_zpsmjctyuyg.jpg[/img]

which goes here
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 08:13 PM



[img]http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y172/rocknrob/DSCN0040_zpsy2ddzo1q.jpg[/img]

becos i have other things for the front put the lever here

dont worry bout the knife...i'm a fisher and nice...most of the time...
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 08:17 PM



[img]http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y172/rocknrob/DSCN0030_zpswdd3jvuw.jpg[/img]

nbturbo...for you..
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 08:19 PM



so...four wheel discs in a turbo kombi..stops like an xr6 falcon
Membernbturbo
Veteran Volks Folk
*****


Avatar


Posts: 2170
Threads: 89
Registered: December 19th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Whyalla Sth.Aust.
Theme: UltimaBB Powder

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 08:45 PM



Thanks mate-did you have to do any radical machining of the splined hub other than the wheel stud mods?I am going to do a rear disc conversion on a Country Buggy rear end and will be using the splined hubs from a Bay Window just like yours,but will need to convert it all to Holden Commy stud pattern.
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 09:09 PM



NBturbo there was no machining involved! had to make the hole in the falcon retaining plate bigger so used a jigsaw to make it 84mm...then had to grind 1mm off the hub all round to fit inside the EA rotor...the long studs are from an earlier mod to fit big merc wheels...yeah then had to cut off pieces of the hub assembly...that was nervewracking but they are spares i have....not a quick easy job but i have the time and inclination
MemberAussie Dubbin
Fahrvergnugen
****


Avatar


Posts: 895
Threads: 90
Registered: July 21st, 2008
Member Is Offline

Location: Adelaide
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 09:52 PM



Nice work rob. I too have ea brakes on my bug like the simple handbrake cable holder. What about taking the cable off ever though?



Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on October 28th, 2015 at 10:35 PM



aussie dubbin the cable unsrews at the front and pulls through to the back...all works very well...if ever i need to replace the cable...well i just replace it!
Membernbturbo
Veteran Volks Folk
*****


Avatar


Posts: 2170
Threads: 89
Registered: December 19th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Whyalla Sth.Aust.
Theme: UltimaBB Powder

posted on January 18th, 2016 at 01:04 PM



Was there a reason for fitting the caliper up on top instead of at the rear like the Falcon has it?
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on January 22nd, 2016 at 05:41 AM



Hi, yes where i have put the caliper gives the best line of pull for the handbrake cable...still working well!
Membernbturbo
Veteran Volks Folk
*****


Avatar


Posts: 2170
Threads: 89
Registered: December 19th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Whyalla Sth.Aust.
Theme: UltimaBB Powder

posted on January 22nd, 2016 at 11:33 AM



Thanks mate.I put mine like the Falcon with the cable under the suspension arm.The pic of yours - I put that caliper on the RH side.Your idea is good because it keeps the cable up out of the way of getting hooked on anything.From my initial testing of using the Ford stuff,the rotor is way too wide to fit the CB rear hubs.I will fab up the ally bracket,then see if there is a rotor with not so much offset.
Memberrocknrob
A.k.a.: Rob
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 844
Threads: 90
Registered: December 18th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Gold Coast
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black
Mood: mystic

posted on January 23rd, 2016 at 09:45 AM



yes i remember swapping parts of the brake assy to get it the way i wanted...DBA parts list is your friend when looking for rotors...Audi have a good selection with less offset...good luck!


  Go To Top


Powered by GaiaBB, © 2011 The GaiaBB Group


[ Queries: 40 ] [ PHP: 38.4% - SQL: 61.6% ]