Board Logo
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
[ Total Views: 1072 | Total Replies: 6 | Thread Id: 113119 ]
Author: Subject:  Remote reservior with warning switch?
Memberpete wood
A.k.a.: figure itout
23 Windows of Awesome
********


Avatar


Posts: 6828
Threads: 389
Registered: January 15th, 2004
Member Is Offline

Location: Nth Nth StMarys, Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White
Mood: upgrades = jackstands

posted on February 27th, 2018 at 03:26 PM
Remote reservior with warning switch?


Right. So I "need" a brake warning switch to comply with ridiculous nanny state local laws we have. I installed one of these...

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/230545265530?ul_noapp=true 

But the fluid leaked around the plastic fittings in the rubber bungs. I need a better solution.

Does anyone have an OEM option that would replace a regular VW style twin circuit reservior? I've found a couple of weird things like 99' renault megane and 99-05' ford focus. But they don't seem to be easily found down here in Australia. Other ideas? I'm getting sick of this and just want to finish the damn car. (In truth I'd sell it today).




"stoopid is stronger than axles"
http://drivingnotpolishing.blogspot.com.au/ 
Memberpv370
Officially Full-On Dubber
***


Avatar


Posts: 270
Threads: 36
Registered: April 7th, 2014
Member Is Offline

Location: Goulburn NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Southern Comfortably Numb

posted on February 28th, 2018 at 07:42 PM



Hey Pete, arnt the warning light switches part of the dual circuit master cylinder. i know the U.S. type 3's have the light on the dash wired from these switches.. maybe 73 type 3's
Member1303Steve
A.k.a.: Steve Carter
Scirocco Rare
*********


Avatar


Posts: 8418
Threads: 515
Registered: August 27th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Sydney, NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Parrot Heading

posted on March 1st, 2018 at 08:09 AM



the factory warnings lights are for the pressure side. .

Pete that must be new regulation. Did you mount the reservoir remotely or on top of the MC?
Memberpete wood
A.k.a.: figure itout
23 Windows of Awesome
********


Avatar


Posts: 6828
Threads: 389
Registered: January 15th, 2004
Member Is Offline

Location: Nth Nth StMarys, Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White
Mood: upgrades = jackstands

posted on March 5th, 2018 at 04:25 PM



Remotely. Been a pain recently. I'm picking up another one, I'll post some pics. Hopefully this is a lot better for $220. Ouch... :(



"stoopid is stronger than axles"
http://drivingnotpolishing.blogspot.com.au/ 
Membergrumble
Son of Jim - Creator of Good
******


Avatar


Posts: 2574
Threads: 48
Registered: June 10th, 2008
Member Is Offline

Location: Taree
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: happy all the time

posted on March 6th, 2018 at 06:26 AM



Pete try the brake specialists or workshops,I used one from a Galant or similar from an old master cylinder, it had a float switch inside and it was a matter of wiring to suit.I may have another reservoir but will have to check.
Member1303Steve
A.k.a.: Steve Carter
Scirocco Rare
*********


Avatar


Posts: 8418
Threads: 515
Registered: August 27th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Sydney, NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Parrot Heading

posted on March 7th, 2018 at 07:55 AM



The RMS made me fit huge reservoirs because Im running 4 spot brakes, they were worried if I ran out of brakes pads I could also run out of brake fluid. You just have to play their game
Super Administratorvw54
Super Administrator
Always Waiting 4 Friday
*********

Rank Avatar

No Avatar


Posts: 16142
Threads: 361
Registered: August 26th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Sunny Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Oval resto ongoing

posted on March 7th, 2018 at 07:05 PM



But the fluid leaked around the plastic fittings in the rubber bungs. I need a better solution.

A thin smear of Silastic might seal it all up






  Go To Top


Powered by GaiaBB, © 2011 The GaiaBB Group


[ Queries: 40 ] [ PHP: 35.6% - SQL: 64.4% ]