Board Logo
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
[ Total Views: 2053 | Total Replies: 4 | Thread Id: 384 ]
Author: Subject: Type 3 engine in beetle?
MemberCon
Learner Dubber

No Avatar

Threads: 4

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on September 4th, 2002 at 11:14 PM
Type 3 engine in beetle?

hello...

once again, ill start by mentioning i am new with vee dubs, so excuse any stupid comments on my behalf.... im learning...

im fixing up a 74 L bug, and am trying to find a way to give the car abit more power than the stock engine.... (currently a 1600) i have many thoughts that pop into my head, and here is the latest, what i want to know is if it is possible....

a type 3 engine, possibly fuel injected, into a 74 L bug??? i know it can preobably be done, but has anybody out there done it....? what's required?? do i need to modify my shell?, is the type 3 engine too long?? am i wasting my time??

if anyone can help on this topic it would be much appreciated... thanks

Con

con__jones@hotmail.com

(there are two underscores between con and jones.... ;) )
MemberSKEWtYpe3
Custom Title Time!

No Avatar

Threads: 107

Mood: Stiring The Pot

posted on September 4th, 2002 at 11:43 PM

Type 1 engine is uprite and the type 3 is flat (as you know) so its wider. You may as well bore out you current engine as FI aint that good. (stop listening to the americans :) ) too wide in the wrong places would be my guess. Plus FI is a b1tch if something breaks as parts are as rare as hens teeth. plus nobody will want to tune it for u and if they do they are guessing 'cos the computers are so old !

hhhhmmmmm the moer i think of the idea the worst it sounds. sound like saying eggs come from cows, just cant get my head around it.
MemberCon
Learner Dubber

No Avatar

Threads: 4

posted on September 5th, 2002 at 12:02 AM
OOOOOOO kay, for a pick of the board, fast money, ur time starts...now