Memberdam0_is
Learner Dubber

No Avatar

Threads: 1

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on October 14th, 2008 at 04:11 PM
General help greatly appreciated

G'day Everyone,

I've been floating around the forum, reading up on things, for a few months now and have finally decided to look into investing in a off road bug.

Now, I was prompted by Daniel's (jedidan) chassis up for sale in the trading area so thats where my questions have stemmed from.

So, I've got a few very general questions regarding building up VW Dune Bug I'm hoping someone, or everyone :blush:, might be able to help me with.

Recently I've been looking around on the internet for a complete, second hand, built up, road registered dune buggy, they seem to come in at roughly $16-20 grand for a decent one.
A certain website I've come across offers new basic turn key buggies for $15 grand ( http://www.beachbuggy.com.au/shopping/shopexd.asp?id=231 ).

What I'd really like to do is build up a buggy, using a Sharpbuilt body, and looking at doing it cheaply (sub $15 grand, the closer to $10k the better) I'd be happy to source parts second hand and do some work myself.

Now, having said that, I've got next to no mechanical experience when it comes to cars, so I'd be looking at somewhere like Custom Vee Dub at Stafford to do all the major welding/body work, and eventually someone to put an engine in the thing.

So, am I dreaming and staring down a long hard expensive road or do you think this is an achievable target? And how much do you estimate it would cost from the rolling chasis Daniel's got up for sale?

Any comments would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks in advance for your time, and my apologies for such a bunch on newbie questions.

Cheers,
Damien
Memberratbug
A.k.a.: Andrew Todd
Wolfsburg Wizard
aka toddy101

Threads: 30

posted on October 14th, 2008 at 04:40 PM

Hi Damien,