Board Logo
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
[ Total Views: 12246 | Total Replies: 37 | Thread Id: 79848 ]
 Pages:  1  2
Author: Subject:  Moving Gear Stick
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 03:20 PM
Moving Gear Stick


What does it mean if my gearstick moves back and forth while in gear when i accelerate and then back off. Like if i give it too it it will pull backwards and then when i ease off it moves forwards again.

Help is appreciated
MemberCraig Torrens
A.k.a.: Craig Torrens
Scirocco Rare
6 times Australian, 7 times State Hillclimb Class Champion
*********


Avatar


Posts: 8044
Threads: 347
Registered: January 10th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Time to go Salt lake racing, and actually achieve a result.

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 03:22 PM



your front gearbox mount is stuffed (at the nosecone of the gearbox).



Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 03:26 PM



How hard is ti to replace?
MemberCraig Torrens
A.k.a.: Craig Torrens
Scirocco Rare
6 times Australian, 7 times State Hillclimb Class Champion
*********


Avatar


Posts: 8044
Threads: 347
Registered: January 10th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Time to go Salt lake racing, and actually achieve a result.

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 03:28 PM



depends on how handy you are ?

Its not hard, but it is a bit of a PITA.




Super ModeratorBizarre
Super Moderator
The artist formerly known as blue74l
*******

Rank Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 12610
Threads: 723
Registered: August 25th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Abbotsford, Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 03:40 PM



Depends on what mount you have at the font as well

I replaced mine and 2 months later it was moving again

That is why i put a Berg style semi ridgid gear box mount in




Futue te ipsum!!!
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 03:53 PM



How can i tel what mount ive got.

I would call myself pretty handy, pulled a 64 engine with one jack and a mechancis trolley, with a few bits and pieces.
Super ModeratorBizarre
Super Moderator
The artist formerly known as blue74l
*******

Rank Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 12610
Threads: 723
Registered: August 25th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Abbotsford, Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 04:01 PM



http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d170/blue74l/Marty/101_1209.jpg

That is my late style

That is the "new" mount and it is rubbish




Futue te ipsum!!!
Membercolonel mustard
Son of Jim - Creator of Good
******


No Avatar


Posts: 2829
Threads: 51
Registered: February 27th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Black

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 04:01 PM



Quote:
Originally posted by Craig Torrens
your front gearbox mount is stuffed (at the nosecone of the gearbox).


oh yeah! I've got that issue.... getting quite nasty too.....

Lucky clutch replacement time is getting closer... all mounts at once :)
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 04:13 PM



Okay, so i will get under my car tomoro and check it out. Dont really wanna have it off the road at all. What damage am i doing to the car by still driving it
MemberLUFTMEISTER
Veteran Volks Folk
*****


Avatar


Posts: 2041
Threads: 119
Registered: July 13th, 2005
Member Is Offline

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: BRISVEGAS in a state of flux

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 05:11 PM



get some thick long cable ties and tie the mount together till you are able to fix it (sooner rather than later) temp fix only. and do not take off quickly from a standing start.



Customer service is not dead in Australia.

Always after HAZET & MATRA & VW factory tools
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 25th, 2009 at 05:42 PM



Ive got some cable ties that they use for air con ducts, will they be okay. And can do that. Would it be okay if didnt fix it for like 7 weeks
MemberLUFTMEISTER
Veteran Volks Folk
*****


Avatar


Posts: 2041
Threads: 119
Registered: July 13th, 2005
Member Is Offline

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: BRISVEGAS in a state of flux

posted on October 26th, 2009 at 04:27 PM



do not know how long the temp fix will hold. monitor daily. try to repair ASAP.



Customer service is not dead in Australia.

Always after HAZET & MATRA & VW factory tools
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 26th, 2009 at 05:44 PM



Will do, its gettting a service soon so might get it done then
Membershaihulud
Custom Title Time!
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1448
Threads: 197
Registered: November 4th, 2005
Member Is Offline

Location: Perth
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on October 27th, 2009 at 01:28 AM



You will almost certainly have to move the entire engine and gearbox assembly to replace that mounting.

It's a bugger of a job.

The first mechanic who crawled under a Kubbelwagen in the mud and slush of a battlefield, to replace that engine mount must have done the most almighty dummy spit about that.

It's one of those things that should have been fixed decades before the Type 3 version.
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 27th, 2009 at 05:52 AM



OKay, well is there a stronger mount to get or is there only one type of mount for 71s
Memberian.mezz
Wolfsburg Elder
I never said, I could write or spell
*******


Avatar


Posts: 3913
Threads: 280
Registered: September 11th, 2004
Member Is Offline

Location: Newcastle
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Happy

posted on October 27th, 2009 at 06:57 AM



Quote:
Originally posted by 71-BEETLE-SEDAN
OKay, well is there a stronger mount to get or is there only one type of mount for 71s


A stock one is fine you have to think, its only 38 years old is was going to break sooner or later:crazy::lol::crazy:




:lol::crazy::lol::crazy::lol:
car forums. where a lot of peoples good intentions end up taking a good old car off the road forever never ever to see the road again. :fakesniff:
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 27th, 2009 at 07:08 AM



Yeah good point. I was thinking about getting a kafer bar, 5 bar one, would it be sensible to mount this at the same time. Also should i do the onther mounts as well?
Memberdjnee
Officially Full-On Dubber
***


Avatar


Posts: 341
Threads: 59
Registered: March 23rd, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Lara, VIC
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: going lower...

posted on October 27th, 2009 at 07:18 AM



I had the same problem when i had my Beetle in the 90's.
ran it for ages with the mount gone. if i remember right we managed to get the new mount in without taking the motor out




Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 27th, 2009 at 04:01 PM



I wa planing on taking the motor out and then moving the trans back a bit so thats good to hear
Super ModeratorBizarre
Super Moderator
The artist formerly known as blue74l
*******

Rank Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 12610
Threads: 723
Registered: August 25th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Abbotsford, Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on October 27th, 2009 at 04:08 PM



Quote:
Originally posted by ian.mezz
Quote:
Originally posted by 71-BEETLE-SEDAN
OKay, well is there a stronger mount to get or is there only one type of mount for 71s


A stock one is fine you have to think, its only 38 years old is was going to break sooner or later:crazy::lol::crazy:


That is my whole point

I dont believe you can get original quality new ones.

The one in my pic is only a month or so old and it is shot

I jst said - stuff it and went the brace method




Futue te ipsum!!!
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on October 27th, 2009 at 06:10 PM



Im getting under the car no to put new exhaust on, im keen so ill check it out and if i can squeeze a cmaera under with me ill get some pics
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on November 6th, 2009 at 09:28 PM



Would a stuffed front mount also cause the car to shake sometimes, like on a flat road it feels like a wheel is loose or something, but they are all tight?
MemberLUFTMEISTER
Veteran Volks Folk
*****


Avatar


Posts: 2041
Threads: 119
Registered: July 13th, 2005
Member Is Offline

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: BRISVEGAS in a state of flux

posted on November 6th, 2009 at 09:42 PM



check your rear spline nuts. if there is a rusty dust around drum center, means they are moving in & out. need to retighten to required torque.



Customer service is not dead in Australia.

Always after HAZET & MATRA & VW factory tools
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on November 6th, 2009 at 09:46 PM



Are they the ones holding the drums on?
Member68AutoBug
A.k.a.: Lee Noonan
Aircooled Master
Beetle Restorer - Experience over 138% - YIKES --
**********


Avatar


Posts: 11648
Threads: 448
Registered: August 31st, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: SCONE in UPPER HUNTER VALLEY NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Yellow
Mood: Really Mentally Ill - all of the time -

posted on November 7th, 2009 at 01:09 AM



Quote:
Originally posted by 71-BEETLE-SEDAN
OKay, well is there a stronger mount to get or is there only one type of mount for 71s


Hi
are We talking Engine/gearbox mounts????

most are rubbish... I had two that lasted 2 years or about 200 kms... lol
I may buy some US made mounts next time..

or You can always buy the red urethane ones...
which should last... for ages..

I've been working on a way to change engine mounts with out taking the engine out...

LEE

Error
Sorry, you must be a registered user in order to download attachments.




- Helping keep Air Cooled VWs on the road - location: SCONE in the Upper Hunter Valley - Northern NSW 320 kms NNW of SYDNEY---
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on November 7th, 2009 at 05:16 AM



Quote:
Originally posted by Craig Torrens
your front gearbox mount is stuffed (at the nosecone of the gearbox).



Its the front one, i was just wondering if i should replace it with a stronger one or if it can only be replaced by the excat same part
MemberHappyDaze
A.k.a.: Greg Mackie
Son of Jim - Creator of Good
Superannuated
******


Avatar


Posts: 2862
Threads: 138
Registered: June 13th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Southern Highlands NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Happy enough

posted on November 7th, 2009 at 06:54 AM



Years (about 48) ago I made a temporary front mount fix by drilling a 10mm hole right through, and fitted a M10 bolt and Nylock nut to hold the mount together. When the nut was tightened - slightly - it looked like a Vanilla Slice being squeezed, but it worked! Like a lot of 'temporary fixes' it stayed that way for quite a while. The gear lever didn't move, the only down side was a bit more noise was transmitted into the car.
Those red mounts are rubbish. They crumbled very quickly in my 'blackish' '59 Beetle, and I have now solid-mounted the engine.

Cheers, Greg




I'd rather wear a Beetle out by racing it than by polishing it!
MemberJoel
Scirocco Rare
Now containing 100% E-Wang
*********


Avatar


Posts: 9368
Threads: 211
Registered: February 14th, 2006
Member Is Offline

Location: Northern Rivers NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Purple
Mood: Tact Level 0.00

posted on November 7th, 2009 at 07:25 AM



Quote:
Originally posted by HappyDaze

Those red mounts are rubbish. They crumbled very quickly in my 'blackish' '59 Beetle, and I have now solid-mounted the engine.

Cheers, Greg


precisely why i wont use them anymore either
i hate to think what the currrent day empi ones are like
i had bugpack ones about 12 years ago in my first bug and they didnt last that long and were certainly no better than OEM rubber ones
Member71-BEETLE-SEDAN
Custom Title Time!
AKA Josh
*****


No Avatar


Posts: 1058
Threads: 108
Registered: March 25th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Mittagong NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro White

posted on November 7th, 2009 at 09:54 AM



So i need a new one of these? is this the front gearbow mount?


http://i626.photobucket.com/albums/tt347/71-BEETLE-SEDAN/7069.jpg
Memberian.mezz
Wolfsburg Elder
I never said, I could write or spell
*******


Avatar


Posts: 3913
Threads: 280
Registered: September 11th, 2004
Member Is Offline

Location: Newcastle
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Happy

posted on November 7th, 2009 at 10:42 AM



yes if the old one is broken.



:lol::crazy::lol::crazy::lol:
car forums. where a lot of peoples good intentions end up taking a good old car off the road forever never ever to see the road again. :fakesniff:
 Pages:  1  2


  Go To Top


Powered by GaiaBB, © 2011 The GaiaBB Group


[ Queries: 40 ] [ PHP: 14.0% - SQL: 86.0% ]