Board Logo
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
[ Total Views: 18769 | Total Replies: 57 | Thread Id: 79954 ]
 Pages:  1  2
Author: Subject:  fitting electric fuel pump
Member68AutoBug
A.k.a.: Lee Noonan
Aircooled Master
Beetle Restorer - Experience over 138% - YIKES --
**********


Avatar


Posts: 11648
Threads: 448
Registered: August 31st, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: SCONE in UPPER HUNTER VALLEY NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Yellow
Mood: Really Mentally Ill - all of the time -

posted on June 1st, 2011 at 10:01 PM



Quote:
Originally posted by bajachris88
i rekon having that tachometer based switch or charge light off the alternator is the way to go,

but have an override momentary push button that you hold while cranking to 'prime' then of course the alternator or tacho goes and u let go of the override then technically it should run itself :P



An on/off switch thru the ignition is better...

I always switch the pump switch off automatically after turning the key off.

A light comes on when the pump is turned OFF....
and ignition is ON....

LEE




- Helping keep Air Cooled VWs on the road - location: SCONE in the Upper Hunter Valley - Northern NSW 320 kms NNW of SYDNEY---
MemberVolksVair
Officially Full-On Dubber
***


Avatar


Posts: 252
Threads: 32
Registered: April 6th, 2010
Member Is Offline

Location: Geelong VIC
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on June 2nd, 2011 at 07:11 AM



Quote:
Originally posted by Joel
That's all well and good on a fresh engine but one that's got a few miles under it's belt can take a few seconds to get oil pressure and when hot the oil light can flicker at idle which can upset the relay or worse yet cut the fuel pump out.
not fun when you're sitting at traffic lights.

It's so easy to get a tachometric fuel pump relay, nearly all fuel injected cars use them.
I had one from a Commodore and it was great, it primed the pump for 2 secs when you turned the ignition on then waited for a tacho signal before it ran again and stopped soon as the tach signal stopped.


Hi Joel, if I had a motor that when hot, the oil light would flicker, I would pull it down & freshen it up before it shit the tin. Your tachometric fuel pump rely from a dunnydore sounds like a good set up, cheers Frank




Adventure Before Dimentia
MemberJoel
Scirocco Rare
Now containing 100% E-Wang
*********


Avatar


Posts: 9368
Threads: 211
Registered: February 14th, 2006
Member Is Offline

Location: Northern Rivers NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Purple
Mood: Tact Level 0.00

posted on June 2nd, 2011 at 05:44 PM



I'd do the same as well but you would be amazed how many of the general public don't.

I used to see it all time at the garage when VWs were alot more common as dailys, they would come in for a pink slip or a service, usually a few thousand miles overdue for an oil change and the light would just flicker at idle if it was still hot.

My best mates 68 does also does it.
It's running perfectly, has good compression etc but it's done nearly 200,000 miles since we put that motor in back in '96 and when hot gets the light flicker.
He's getting a new engine eventually so is happy enough to leave it.
MemberCraig Torrens
A.k.a.: Craig Torrens
Scirocco Rare
6 times Australian, 7 times State Hillclimb Class Champion
*********


Avatar


Posts: 8044
Threads: 347
Registered: January 10th, 2003
Member Is Offline

Location: Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Time to go Salt lake racing, and actually achieve a result.

posted on June 2nd, 2011 at 08:51 PM



just fit a 30mm oil pump.......it will then go for another 200,000miles ;)



Memberairhead
Casual Dubber
*


No Avatar


Posts: 24
Threads: 7
Registered: May 4th, 2011
Member Is Offline

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on June 13th, 2011 at 10:14 AM



which wire should i connect to on my super for fuel pump to run on ignition start :)
um yeah and what colour would that be.
Membertweety
Wolfsburg Wizard
***


Avatar


Posts: 460
Threads: 68
Registered: February 26th, 2011
Member Is Offline

Location: Strathbogie Vic
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on August 15th, 2011 at 09:52 PM



About to install my Ea81 into the trike (see non Vw conversions). So a fuel pump is needed. It is great you guys on here answering these questions especially the safety aspect eg cut outs.

Well done guys. you are serving more than the OP most of the time.




http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXwh4z8d66o 
SUBARU ea81, VW auto, Detour camper
My ex girlfriend said "its me or a trike". Her big mistake.
Memberbinner
Fahrvergnugen
****


Avatar


Posts: 958
Threads: 193
Registered: January 19th, 2010
Member Is Offline

Location: Brisbane
Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: want more grunt

posted on October 3rd, 2012 at 12:13 PM
FYI just found it


I just fitted my pump and dual relay cut off on the weekend then just 10mins ago by chance found this unit
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Collision-Safety-Shut-Off-Switch-Electric-Fuel-Pum...

Going there this arvo to check it out and get more info on how it works. looks clean and neat but wan tto make sure it will do its job.

ZAPZAP




Member68AutoBug
A.k.a.: Lee Noonan
Aircooled Master
Beetle Restorer - Experience over 138% - YIKES --
**********


Avatar


Posts: 11648
Threads: 448
Registered: August 31st, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: SCONE in UPPER HUNTER VALLEY NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Yellow
Mood: Really Mentally Ill - all of the time -

posted on October 3rd, 2012 at 02:37 PM



WOW
that sounds great

would have saved a lot of beetles with electric pumps, and even more minis.. [as they did have electric fuel pumps]

LEE

Must sense the flow of fuel..




- Helping keep Air Cooled VWs on the road - location: SCONE in the Upper Hunter Valley - Northern NSW 320 kms NNW of SYDNEY---
Member1303Steve
A.k.a.: Steve Carter
Scirocco Rare
*********


Avatar


Posts: 8335
Threads: 497
Registered: August 27th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Sydney, NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Parrot Heading

posted on October 3rd, 2012 at 06:18 PM



Hi

I had a tachometric relay from a EFI BMWon my sons 1303 but it didn't like the signal coming from the MSD, the tacho signal comes out of the MSD box and not directly from the coil -

So I've now fitted a double through relay.

87 not used
87A goes to the pump
85 goes to the oil pressure warning light wire
86 & 30 are joined and fed by the ignition switch

On this relay when its at rest with no ignition feed, no power comes out of the relay at 87 or 87A

Turn the ignition on and the relay gets earth from the oil pressure switch, no power comes out of 87A, it only come out of 87 which is not used.

When the oil pressure builds the warning light goes out and the relay has no earth so it goes back to rest state but power goes through the relay at pin 30 and on to 87A to power the pump, if there is no oil pressure the relay is earthed again which takes power away from 87A.

The BMW tachometric relay cost me about $80 or $90, the Hella double through relay was under $20

The things that are not ideal with this setup,
1. no fuel flow until oil pressure builds, not ideal if the carbs are dry for some reason.
2. pumps stays on until the pressure drops when the motor is cold as the oil is still gluggy

Steve

Error
Sorry, you must be a registered user in order to download attachments.
Memberbinner
Fahrvergnugen
****


Avatar


Posts: 958
Threads: 193
Registered: January 19th, 2010
Member Is Offline

Location: Brisbane
Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: want more grunt

posted on October 12th, 2012 at 07:16 PM



ok , so the unit contains a metal ball (conductor) that sits in a steel cone/ inverted pyramid that makes a circuit. Once there is impact/force it throws the ball out and cuts the circuit to the fuel pump. It also has a reset knob if it does jump out. Would take a good hit to knock the ball out though and one that I hope never to get :smilegrin:

Gunna install on the weekend

thats my review........




Memberhaccc
Slammed & Awesome Dubber
**


No Avatar


Posts: 79
Threads: 12
Registered: October 13th, 2012
Member Is Offline

Location: Sandy Beach
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: comedian

posted on October 30th, 2012 at 07:43 PM



Quote:
Originally posted by binner
I just fitted my pump and dual relay cut off on the weekend then just 10mins ago by chance found this unit
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Collision-Safety-Shut-Off-Switch-Electric-Fuel-Pum...

Going there this arvo to check it out and get more info on how it works. looks clean and neat but wan tto make sure it will do its job.

Just ordered one will see what impact it takes to shut off as its going in my out of control off road maverick:cool:
this should make 56astro happy:lol:
ZAPZAP




I started out with nothing ,I still have some left
Member68AutoBug
A.k.a.: Lee Noonan
Aircooled Master
Beetle Restorer - Experience over 138% - YIKES --
**********


Avatar


Posts: 11648
Threads: 448
Registered: August 31st, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: SCONE in UPPER HUNTER VALLEY NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Yellow
Mood: Really Mentally Ill - all of the time -

posted on October 30th, 2012 at 09:17 PM



maybe a mercury switch could have been used
[used as tilt switches in car alarms..]

just depends on what angle its set at...

I used to use one to switch the under bonnet lamp on years ago..

LEE




- Helping keep Air Cooled VWs on the road - location: SCONE in the Upper Hunter Valley - Northern NSW 320 kms NNW of SYDNEY---
Memberhaccc
Slammed & Awesome Dubber
**


No Avatar


Posts: 79
Threads: 12
Registered: October 13th, 2012
Member Is Offline

Location: Sandy Beach
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: comedian

posted on November 2nd, 2012 at 09:16 PM



http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Collision-Safety-Shut-Off-Switch-Electric-Fuel-Pum...

ordered, delivered,5 minutes to fit and it works




I started out with nothing ,I still have some left
MemberUber Kafer
Wolfsburg Wizard
***


Avatar


Posts: 411
Threads: 49
Registered: November 12th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: Bunbury (BunVegas) WA
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Need a bigger shed..

posted on November 6th, 2012 at 08:26 AM



thanks for that tip binner. i just ordered one of the collision shut-off switches, I thought it was a no brainer.
As well I got a Peel CP30 fuel control (tachiometric) relay. $40. They are used by the auto-gas installers and do everything that is needed for a petrol fuel pump. Monitors tacho signal, puts out a brief prime signal when ignition first on, and switches off if tacho signal lost. Might have to use it to drive a standard relay to switch pump supply if the contact ratings arent rated high enough for the pump amps.

Completely covers it now I reckon.
Memberbinner
Fahrvergnugen
****


Avatar


Posts: 958
Threads: 193
Registered: January 19th, 2010
Member Is Offline

Location: Brisbane
Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: want more grunt

posted on November 8th, 2012 at 07:16 PM



^^^^^ yeah how simple an idea and the ease of installation is whacky. Everyone should have one installed for the cost.



Memberhaccc
Slammed & Awesome Dubber
**


No Avatar


Posts: 79
Threads: 12
Registered: October 13th, 2012
Member Is Offline

Location: Sandy Beach
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: comedian

posted on November 9th, 2012 at 10:18 PM



Quote:
Originally posted by haccc
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Collision-Safety-Shut-Off-Switch-Electric-Fuel-Pum...

ordered, delivered,5 minutes to fit and it works



tested todayin extreem offroad driving it takes all without dropping the switch but vertical mounting is critical for resetting




I started out with nothing ,I still have some left
MemberSunshineKarmann
Casual Dubber
*


Avatar


Posts: 34
Threads: 6
Registered: December 19th, 2008
Member Is Offline

Location: Melbourne
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Always up for a chat

posted on December 21st, 2012 at 10:02 PM



Picked up a Rabbit (aka Golf) relay off aircooled.net. Running a Carter rotary pump and Holley regulator.
MemberSunshineKarmann
Casual Dubber
*


Avatar


Posts: 34
Threads: 6
Registered: December 19th, 2008
Member Is Offline

Location: Melbourne
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Always up for a chat

posted on January 14th, 2013 at 12:37 PM



Further to the above, new engine is in car and running. The Carter rotary pump is a very loud fecker. No vibration as it is rubber mounter but can hear the whirring on idle. Good thing the new engine and exhuast drown out the noise :tu:

Have had absolutely no issue at all with the Rabbit Relay set up.
Memberbinner
Fahrvergnugen
****


Avatar


Posts: 958
Threads: 193
Registered: January 19th, 2010
Member Is Offline

Location: Brisbane
Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: want more grunt

posted on January 30th, 2013 at 07:34 PM



ok,so Im' now up and running but because I have never had a vw with an electric fuel pump I'm not sure if i have the regulator set correctly, after about 10mins of nice idle it sounds like the carbs starve of fuel and the engine dies... could this be fuel starve, wrong psi/flow for reg?

I bought a reg off CIP1 but it doesn't have a bypass back to the fuel tank and now I'm thinking maybe it would be smart to run a reg with a return to the tank. What do you think of these (link below) and would 3psi be too much for my donk, I'm running dual 40 idfs with jet doctors and a empi HD fuel punp at the moment. Or does anyone have a choice of regs to use .........
Also, would it be smart to make the fuel hose length the same from both carbs to meet the fuel line, at the moment one is shorter than the other?

linky http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/BILLET-FUEL-REGULATOR-RED-CHEV-FORD-HOTROD-MOPAR-H...

or this one http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Holley-fuel-pressure-regulator-suit-carburetor-1-4...



any help would be appreciated

cheers binner......




Super Administratorbarls
A.k.a.: Mr indestructible
Super Administrator
Causer of Chaos and Mayhem
*********

Rank Avatar

No Avatar


Posts: 9332
Threads: 286
Registered: June 22nd, 2004
Member Is Offline

Location: cruising in denistone east
Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: indestructible? and listening to the voices

posted on January 30th, 2013 at 07:44 PM



dont use the red line or similar style ie this one
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/REDLINE-FUEL-PRESSURE-REGULATOR-HOLLEY-WEBER-WEBBE...
ive killed 5 so far.
looking at a holley one next time




“We all pay for life with death, so everything in between should be free.” Bill Hicks
the chaos project - click me

http://www.goats.com/store/images/banner_destroy.png
Super ModeratorBizarre
Super Moderator
The artist formerly known as blue74l
*******

Rank Avatar

Avatar


Posts: 12586
Threads: 719
Registered: August 25th, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: Abbotsford, Sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on January 30th, 2013 at 07:58 PM



have a read here

I was asking similar questions

http://forums.aussieveedubbers.com/viewtopic.php?tid=100429 

Mallory seems to be the go - there is 2 and 3 way versions

Do you know what you have set the regulator to??




Futue te ipsum!!!
Memberbinner
Fahrvergnugen
****


Avatar


Posts: 958
Threads: 193
Registered: January 19th, 2010
Member Is Offline

Location: Brisbane
Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: want more grunt

posted on January 30th, 2013 at 08:29 PM
hrmmmmmmm


Quote:
Originally posted by barls
dont use the red line or similar style ie this one
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/REDLINE-FUEL-PRESSURE-REGULATOR-HOLLEY-WEBER-WEBBE...
ive killed 5 so far.
looking at a holley one next time

roger that,
this is the one I fitted
http://www2.cip1.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=C26%2D127%2D005 




Memberbinner
Fahrvergnugen
****


Avatar


Posts: 958
Threads: 193
Registered: January 19th, 2010
Member Is Offline

Location: Brisbane
Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: want more grunt

posted on January 30th, 2013 at 08:31 PM



Quote:
Originally posted by Bizarre
have a read here

I was asking similar questions

http://forums.aussieveedubbers.com/viewtopic.php?tid=100429 

Mallory seems to be the go - there is 2 and 3 way versions

Do you know what you have set the regulator to??


thanks for the linky dink!!.
I'm not sure what I set it to, kinda faked it, i guess I'm off to buy a psi gauge tomorrow




Memberbinner
Fahrvergnugen
****


Avatar


Posts: 958
Threads: 193
Registered: January 19th, 2010
Member Is Offline

Location: Brisbane
Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: want more grunt

posted on February 7th, 2013 at 08:58 PM



ordered my mallory with return to tank pump today.... I think a return and 2 outlets to carbs is the better way to go.

shabang.......




Memberspearsy
Commited Dubber
**


Avatar


Posts: 62
Threads: 15
Registered: April 18th, 2009
Member Is Offline

Location: sydney
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on February 18th, 2014 at 04:59 PM



If your going to go electric, buy a Pierberg pump. They are 3psi, suck and pump as well. The only thing is they are $150 but you get what you pay for. Excellent quality and hassle free. I ran one for 6 years in my bus and it never skipped a beat.
Membervduboy
Insano Dub Head
****


Avatar


Posts: 701
Threads: 41
Registered: October 6th, 2012
Member Is Offline

Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: Dying to get more buggy building time..

posted on August 25th, 2016 at 12:51 PM



I bought one of those Peel CP30 LPG relays off Ebay to fit up with my new fuel carter rotary pump. Tested out the prime function which it does have thankfully. That makes the install very straight forward. Weird thing with the webers is they empty the bowls if sitting for longer than a week. Hence the electric pump. The kaddies never did that at all. One pump on the throttle and it was started.
Just have to machine up some adapters from the 5mm fuel tank pipe to the 8mm pump fittings.




It will all be OK in the end, if it's not OK it's not the end!
Member68AutoBug
A.k.a.: Lee Noonan
Aircooled Master
Beetle Restorer - Experience over 138% - YIKES --
**********


Avatar


Posts: 11648
Threads: 448
Registered: August 31st, 2002
Member Is Offline

Location: SCONE in UPPER HUNTER VALLEY NSW
Theme: UltimaBB Pro Yellow
Mood: Really Mentally Ill - all of the time -

posted on June 25th, 2017 at 10:01 PM



I have a plastic electric fuel pump which is located under the fuel tank and I have an ON/OFF switch under the dash and a bright light on the dash to show it is OFF.. The pump is rubber mounted but I can hear it ticking... when it is switched ON... Car will drive about 100 meters until the bowl is dry...

I also run a Holley fuel pressure regulator with a small gauge attached to it.. on the LHS of the fan housing..
I have run these for over 10 years. I always carry a spare identical electric fuel pump for just in case..
3 PSI with a brasillian WEBER dfv-228 carburetor 1600 SP engine.

LEE




- Helping keep Air Cooled VWs on the road - location: SCONE in the Upper Hunter Valley - Northern NSW 320 kms NNW of SYDNEY---
MemberDasAuto77
Learner Dubber
*


Avatar


Posts: 17
Threads: 4
Registered: April 17th, 2014
Member Is Offline

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on June 26th, 2017 at 03:37 PM



My understanding is that the tachometric relay is mainly a safety measure. The kind of scenario where you have crashed or rolled the vehicle and engine has stalled and you do not have the presence of mind, or indeed the consciousness, to turn off ignition or any other switch. The Peel relays are so cheap and easy to install it just makes sense IMHO.
 Pages:  1  2


  Go To Top


Powered by GaiaBB, © 2011 The GaiaBB Group


[ Queries: 40 ] [ PHP: 18.1% - SQL: 81.9% ]