Memberfullnoise
Fahrvergnugen

Threads: 103

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Middle of the road.

posted on January 3rd, 2013 at 01:36 PM
1915 to 2110?

Hi Everyone,

I've been running the same engine for 10 years. I really need to get new pistons and rings and fix an oil leak. But that's all a bit boring.

Since I have 48 IDAs and a 1 5/8 berg exhaust and recently some CB 44 x 37 wedgeports I thought a bit of stroker action would help the air speed.

I'm thinking of adding a 76mm DRP crank and wiseco B pistons.

I have CB super race H beam rods which will reduce the case clearancing (apparently). I'll probably have to get the cylinders machined down (I think). What else? I've never built a stroker before.

What do y'all think?

Happy New Year.

CT

esratrams
Membercorvair88
Learner Dubber

No Avatar

Threads: 2

posted on January 3rd, 2013 at 09:41 PM

Hi CT
Can't believe you have had no responses?
Must be the time of the year.
If you can go bigger, do it.
Nothing beats cubes so, go the cubes where ever possible.
With cubes you can go mild with a good result or wild with a great result.
Having seen the quality of your car,on the couple of occasions we met, I'm sure this will spill over into your motor department .
I think the cam will be the most important factor in your equation as all the other components are sound.
Wish you luck.
Regards from Rene' in Adelaide
' the capital of speed cameras'

Rene'
Super Moderatormatberry
Super Moderator
Go hard or go home

Rank Avatar

Threads: 134

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue
Mood: enjoying waving at all my Kombi buddies from my T3

posted on January 3rd, 2013 at 10:04 PM

I'd definately do it, hell, why stop at 76? DPR aslo do a nice 78, still nice and strong, with mild clearancing, bigger will make those heads work better, you probably wont even need to machine the barrels with 78, but likely with 76.

Matt Berry Motorsports...air cooled advice, repairs and mods Ph 0408 704 662
OFF-ROAD,CIRCUIT,DRAG,STREET,ENDURANCE