Author: Subject:  Lowering a 65 Beetle
MemberACT65Deluxe
Casual Dubber

Threads: 10

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Always Chilled

posted on May 12th, 2014 at 08:45 PM
Lowering a 65 Beetle

OK. I have read some forums on lowering beetles but I thought I would throw this out there.

I am new to the beetle seen and have bought a stock standard, 6 volt, 1192cc beetle which I love and intend on leaving stock. I have seen some stock beetles that sit around an inch lower than normal which does look good.

I thought I would ask what are the Pros and Cons to having a beetle lowered an inch (if that is possible), two inches max.

I am using the beetle as a regular drive and I thought I would ask if there is any additional wear or stresses on things like axles, bearings, body and floor-pan etc.

Cheers

Clem

Error
Sorry, you must be a registered user in order to download attachments.

Nothing beats cruising in my Beetle
Super ModeratorBizarre
Super Moderator
The artist formerly known as blue74l

Rank Avatar

Threads: 730

posted on May 12th, 2014 at 09:32 PM

I would look at getting a set of dropped spindles for the front

A straight 2" drop and all the geometry stays the same

Shouldnt need to touch the back

Futue te ipsum!!!
MemberACT65Deluxe
Casual Dubber

posted on May 12th, 2014 at 09:35 PM

Thanks for that. Wouldn't I need to drop the back by 2" to keep it level all round?

MemberGamaufmate
Learner Dubber

Threads: 4

posted on May 13th, 2014 at 05:49 PM

Gotta be careful, drop spindles will slightly offset the wheels, and could potentially scrub your guards. And lowering the rear is fairly simple. All you have to do is play around with the rear torsion arms. There are many discussions on how to do this, and vids on youtube etc. If you want to properly lower the front of the car without any issues in the long run, a 2 inch narrowed adjustable front beam is the way to go. Just advise from previous experience :)
MemberACT65Deluxe
Casual Dubber