[ Total Views: 824 | Total Replies: 5 | Thread Id: 106919 ]
Author: Subject:  Advice please. 1916 Engine upgrade opportunity or just repair
Memberdrindiana
Casual Dubber

Threads: 6

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on August 19th, 2014 at 02:59 PM
Advice please. 1916 Engine upgrade opportunity or just repair

Apologies if this post is similar to others and thanks to those who post in other threads who continue to contribute to my learning. I have very little mechanical experience or tools so rely on paid help. Apologies also for the length.
Now the background to my dilemma or opportunity; my 71 bus with 1916 (with aftermarket EFI / ECU setup, full flow oil system and external cooler) has thrown a valve from the rocker on cylinder 4 and is not happy at all and is sitting in my drive. My local mechanic (keeping names out) with good VW experience has advised that the motor needs to come out to see what damage has been done, and repair and replace accordingly. Seems fair. The estimated price for the activity (obviously not knowing the damage) is ~$1500. I don’t know if that is fair but not knowing the damage it could be.
With labour rates as they are, lack of personal capacity and an urge for more torque I asked him for a quote using as much of the existing motor as possible to make me a lower cost stroker (2054 or 2109). I didn’t want to go bigger as I understand the cost could double to match the capacity needs e.g. breather, machining, new cam, etc. I don’t have the budget now for this. This is the quote:
CRANKSHAFT $299.00
Connecting Rods $ 455.00
Inlet valve seats $36.00 ( set of 4 )
Exhaust valve seats$36.00 ( set of 4 )
Inlet valve 40mm $60.00 ( set of 4)
Exhaust valves 35.5mm $60.00 ( set of 4)
Spring retainers and collets $78.00
Hot wash $100.00
Lash caps $40.00
Engine gasket kit $ 40.00
Flywheel seal and "O" ring $20.00
Engine oil $30.00
Oil filter $15.00
Cylinder head repair fitting new seats and valves and porting $1000.00
Main bearings $140.00