A.k.a.: Damien
Custom Title Time!
where's that clutch?

Threads: 149

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: Pierced

posted on January 12th, 2006 at 06:21 PM
tweeter position in a late 1500

is it possible to point some splits out of the window frame, just below where the headliner starts.. it becomes a little bigger there, didnt know if anyones done it, or looked into it

if not, who can reccomend what?

i plan to just run a pair of 6x9'son my parcel tray, and a 10" sub behind the back seat/or in the tray between the 6x9's, and a pair of splits up front dunno what to power by amp etc, just a small system

Tagedeezee Heezy
Membermodulus
A.k.a.: Peter Hill
Veteran Volks Folk

Threads: 76

Theme: UltimaBB Pro White
Mood: modular

posted on January 12th, 2006 at 07:45 PM

Hi killa,

I'm no audio expert, but:
1. - do you mean tweeters from the splits at the top of the door frame? If so they'll be too far separated from the main body of the splits, presumably either in the kick panels (a la Das Dubber) or in the door panels. The separation will result in a wierd separation of apparent sound stage of the high frequencies from the mid frequencies.

2. - in a 1500 you probably won't want to run 6x9's AND a sub - they will interfere with each other(more specifically, the sub, if properly driven, will interfere with the 6x9's) , muddying the sound. Unless you're trying to entertain rear seat passengers often, a good quality pair of splits in the front and a 10" sub in the back will be more than adequate. Even 6x9's in the back and no sub would be better than 6x9's *and* a sub.

3. - with a pair of splits in the front and a sub in the back, you've got three channels to drive, so ideally a 4-channel amplifier bridged to 2 channels + 1 (for the sub) would give you enough juice to drive good quality speakers.