Seriously Crusin Dubber

No Avatar

Threads: 28

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )

posted on December 26th, 2015 at 03:08 PM
Idle adjustment and - advice sought

Merry Christmas everyone....
Seeking some advice:
1.IDLE SPEED Just recently the idle speed on my 71 type 3 has been creeping up . I screwed back the fast idle but to no avail. Prior to this the car would have a faster idle on start up , but after a minute or so just a quick tap on the accelerator pedal would drop it down to around the 6-700 mark.
Car still cruises fine,but at the lights all the boy racers think I'm after a drag as she is idling well over 1000.
I have no experience with carbies, so in simple terms what do I need to do to pull down the idle speed?

2. IGNITION TIMING I have used a strobe light before but with the type 3 I am not so sure - my research is to use the first mark on the left. Are there any tricks to using a strobe to time the car?

3. DISTRIBUTOR Also what type of distributor does the car have - I see frequent comments on here about 009s and other variations -just curious.

Thanks in advanvce for any advice thrown this way.

Error
Sorry, you must be a registered user in order to download attachments.

Error

Error

Error
Memberadlbeetle66
A.k.a.: Denver
Custom Title Time!
Under the car.........again!

Threads: 98

Theme: UltimaBB Streamlined2
Mood: ICH BIN VW NUSS

posted on December 26th, 2015 at 05:18 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by hpnotch
3. DISTRIBUTOR Also what type of distributor does the car have - I see frequent comments on here about 009s and other variations -just curious.

You have a Vacuum Advance dizzy
Memberpsimitar
Son of Jim - Creator of Good

Threads: 148

Theme: UltimaBB Psyche Blue

posted on December 27th, 2015 at 11:43 AM

Could be the dizzy vac plate sticking or something sticking on the carbs. So maybe start with checking the dizzy over and servicing it.