Board Logo
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
[ Total Views: 1620 | Total Replies: 6 | Thread Id: 14852 ]
Author: Subject: New member - out of my depth?!
Membersugarlips
A.k.a.: Splitty Addict
Seriously Crusin Dubber

No Avatar

Threads: 35

Theme: UltimaBB Pro Blue ( Default )
Mood: chilled

posted on October 22nd, 2003 at 09:51 PM
New member - out of my depth?!

Hi all, i guess im the newest member and already have heaps of questions! I bought a 62 Beetle 3 months ago and its been running very smooth other than the battery is being drained somewhere? A new one was fitted recently yet it still dies every month or 2?

Im the 1st to admit to being a complete novice at this but very willing to learn! im well into the early bugs & Kombi's and am looking for people who know what its like to be new at this stuff!

I really need some help(in plain english!) so as to not to have to pay someone heaps to rebuild the generator or something!

Some of my many other questions include, does anyone know a cheap/reputable garage in North Sydney (im pretty new to Oz as well!) and on a less improtant note if its a '62 Beetle does that make it a 62 and a 1/2 and if so what does that mean!??

thanx guys
MemberCraig Torrens
A.k.a.: Craig Torrens
Scirocco Rare
6 times Australian, 7 times State Hillclimb Class Champion

Threads: 347

Mood: Time to go Salt lake racing, and actually achieve a result.

posted on October 22nd, 2003 at 10:19 PM

Welcome sugarlips, that name is sweeet:D

62 and 1/2 is when the Beetle came out with overriders on the bumpers, so if it was an early 62 beetle it had single blade style bumpers. Half way thru the year (hence 1/2) they had the overriders;)

As for a place to get serviced (the car that is) I only Know of one in Hornsby, Clarke Automotive. the rest I know are on the south side of syd.
As for your battery, do both lights on the dash come on when you turn the ignition on, and do they both go out when the motor starts ??

MemberOasis
Custom Title Time!